Methodology: how prices are checked
Prices checked · Updated
Every figure comes from the vendor's own page.
- Re-checked
- daily, by script
- Shown
- the date each figure was checked
- Unpublished
- marked Not published, never zero
- Affiliation
- none, no ads or affiliate links
How figures are collected
- Every price and limit comes from an official vendor page (pricing pages, help centers and API docs). Each table row links to its source.
- A script re-reads the vendor pages once a day. A number is never overwritten with nothing; a parse that fails sanity checks (for example plans out of price order, or input above output price) is discarded; changes over 50% are applied but flagged for review.
- Changes are proposed as a pull request and reviewed before they go live.
- Prose (feature lists, limit descriptions) is edited by hand from the same pages.
What the check labels mean
| Label | Meaning |
|---|---|
| checked <date> | The script read the figure from the vendor page on that date. |
| checked by hand <date> | The figure was verified manually on that date (for example free plans). |
| last verified <date>; vendor page could not be re-checked automatically | The vendor blocks automated requests (for example HTTP 403). The figure is the last verified value and is re-checked by hand. |
| no longer listed on the vendor's pricing page | The item disappeared from the vendor page. The last published rate is shown so you can see what it was. |
| Not published | The vendor gives no number. This is not zero. |
| Not stated | The vendor does not say whether a feature is included. This does not mean not included. |
Plan names
| Product | Sold as |
|---|---|
| Grok | The X Subscription (xAI), also bundles X app features |
| Gemini | Google AI Plus, Pro and Ultra |
| Older SuperGrok / X plans | Existing subscribers only |
Currency and tax
- Pages show US list prices in USD, excluding tax.
- The site can convert currency and add estimated tax.
- Those are estimates: local, country and app-store prices often differ.
- Exchange rates: ECB reference rates via Frankfurter (about 30 currencies) and Exchange Rate API (about 160 currencies), fetched live with a saved snapshot as fallback.
- Tax: standard national consumer rates for digital services as of 2026-11-03, from Tax Foundation: VAT rates in Europe (Jan 2026), TaxID: VAT and GST rates by country 2026, VatInfo.org: VAT rates by country 2026.
- US and Canadian tax depends on state or province, so set a custom rate. Business buyers with a valid VAT or GST number are often charged 0%. API prices are always shown excluding tax.
How the plan finder ranks plans
Each plan gets a 0-100 fit score, a weighted average of:
- Affordability
- Usage within its vendor
- Top-model access
- Fit to your use cases
- Context window
Unpublished factors are left out, not scored as zero. It measures fit, not quality.
What the score cannot tell you
- Usage is only comparable inside one vendor. Across vendors, headroom is the plan's position on that vendor's own ladder, and you set how much it matters.
- No quality or benchmark claims. The scores use published prices, usage multiples, model access, context and feature tables.
- Unknown values (marked Not published or Not stated) are left out of a score. They are never counted as zero or as included.
- Converted currency and tax follow the currency and tax rules above.
Dates
| Label | Meaning |
|---|---|
| Prices checked | Latest check of the figures on the page |
| Updated | Last time the facts on the page changed |
Coverage
| Covered | |
|---|---|
| Vendors | ChatGPT, Claude, Gemini, Grok |
| Plans | Consumer, team, API rates |
| Not tracked | Microsoft Copilot, Perplexity, others |
Independence and license
- Not affiliated with OpenAI, Anthropic, Google, xAI or X.
- No affiliate links or ads.
- Data reuse: CC BY 4.0, credit GeekInData AI (open data, licenses).
Sources
ChatGPT pricing page · ChatGPT Pro tiers (Help Center) · What is ChatGPT Go? (Help Center) · Introducing ChatGPT Go (OpenAI) · What is ChatGPT Plus? (Help Center) · ChatGPT Business pricing · ChatGPT Business models and limits · ChatGPT Work / Codex pricing and usage · OpenAI API pricing · Claude pricing page · What is the Team plan? (Claude Help Center) · How is my Team plan bill calculated? · x.ai pricing page · The X Subscription pricing (xAI docs) · X Subscription usage limits (xAI docs) · xAI API models and pricing · Introducing The X Subscription (xAI) · Grok Pricing 2026 (gravity.fast, third-party) · Google AI plans (gemini.google) · Gemini Apps limits and feature availability (Google Help) · Gemini Enterprise editions (gemini.google, Business tab) · Gemini Developer API pricing (Google AI for Developers)