Gemini vs Grok: plans, prices and limits
Prices checked · Updated
Monthly prices in USD, excl. tax, checked Nov 4, 2026.
- Gemini
- $0–$199.99 a month
- Grok
- $0–$200 a month
- Cheapest paid
- Google AI Plus, $4.99
- Free plan
- both
Plans and prices
| Plan | Monthly | Annual billing |
|---|---|---|
| Gemini Free | Free | - |
| Google AI Plus | $4.99/month | Monthly only |
| Google AI Pro | $19.99/month | Monthly only |
| Google AI Ultra (5x) | $99.99/month | Monthly only |
| Google AI Ultra (20x) | $199.99/month | Monthly only |
| Grok Free | Free | - |
| Grok Plus | $8/month | $7/month billed yearly ($80 a year) |
| Grok Premium | $30/month | $25/month billed yearly ($300 a year) |
| Grok Super | $100/month | $84/month billed yearly ($1,000 a year) |
| Grok Ultra | $200/month | $167/month billed yearly ($2,000 a year) |
Usage, models and context
| Plan | Usage (as published) | Context | Models |
|---|---|---|---|
| Gemini Free | Standard limits. Usage refreshes every 5 hours until a weekly limit is reached. Google publishes no absolute numbers. | 32K tokens | Flash-Lite model |
| Google AI Plus | 2x higher than standard (Free) limits, refreshed every 5 hours with a weekly limit. | 128K tokens | Flash model, Includes Gemini 4 Argon (as listed on the plans page) |
| Google AI Pro | 4x higher than standard (Free) limits, refreshed every 5 hours with a weekly limit. | 1M tokens | Gemini 4 Argon, Pro model (3.1 Pro), Flash model |
| Google AI Ultra (5x) | 5x higher usage limits than AI Pro. | 1M tokens | Highest access to Gemini 4 Argon, the Pro and Flash models |
| Google AI Ultra (20x) | 20x higher usage limits than AI Pro. | 1M tokens | Highest access to Gemini 4 Argon, the Pro and Flash models |
| Grok Free | Limited. xAI publishes no numbers. | – | Grok (limited) |
| Grok Plus | "Base" shared weekly pool across Grok and Cursor. All other tiers are multiples of this. Amount not published. | – | Grok Chat, Voice, Imagine, Build, Grok API access |
| Grok Premium | 4x Plus in the shared weekly pool. | – | Latest Grok models, Grok Imagine (images and video) |
| Grok Super | 15x Plus in the shared weekly pool. | – | Everything in Premium |
| Grok Ultra | 50x Plus in the shared weekly pool. | – | Everything in Super |
| Plan | Price | Usage vs Free | Context window |
|---|---|---|---|
| Free | $0 | 1x (standard) | 32K tokens |
| AI Plus | $4.99 | 2x | 128K tokens |
| AI Pro | $19.99 | 4x | 1M tokens |
| AI Ultra 5x | $99.99 | 5x AI Pro (20x) | 1M tokens |
| AI Ultra 20x | $199.99 | 20x AI Pro (80x) | 1M tokens |
| Plan | Price | Pool | Notable gating |
|---|---|---|---|
| Free | $0 | Limited | No Grok Bot, no video, no API access |
| Plus | $8 | 1x (Base) | No Grok Bot, no video, not for teams |
| Premium | $30 | 4x | Grok Bot, video, Cursor cloud agents |
| Super | $100 | 15x | Priority access, 1080p 15s video |
| Ultra | $200 | 50x | Earliest access to everything |
Team and business plans
| Plan | Price | Seats | Usage |
|---|---|---|---|
| Grok Teams (Premium / Super / Ultra seats) | $30 / $100 / $200 per seat per month | Mix seat tiers. Plus not available for teams. | Each seat has its own weekly pool matching the individual tier (4x, 15x, 50x). Team shares a prepaid balance for Additional Usage. |
| Grok Enterprise | Custom | Sales-led | Pooled usage. |
| Gemini Gemini Enterprise: Business edition | From $21 per seat per month | Up to 300 seats (minimum not stated) | Not stated. Google says Standard / Plus have higher usage limits. |
| Gemini Gemini Enterprise: Standard / Plus editions | From $30 per seat per month (contact sales) | Unlimited seats | Higher usage limits than Business (amount not stated). |
API prices
| Model | Input | Output | Cached input | Cache write |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Gemini 4 Argon (promo) | $2 | $10 | $0.10 | – |
| Gemini 3.1 Pro Preview (<=200K prompt) | $2 | $12 | $0.20 | – |
| Gemini 3.1 Pro Preview (>200K prompt) | $4 | $18 | $0.40 | – |
| Gemini 3.8 Flash (promo) | $0.75 | $3.75 | $0.075 | – |
| Gemini 3.6 Flash (promo) | $0.75 | $3.75 | $0.075 | – |
| Gemini 3.5 Flash-Lite | $0.30 | $2.50 | $0.03 | – |
| Gemini 3.1 Flash-Lite | $0.25 | $1.50 | $0.025 | – |
| Grok 4.7 (<200K prompt) | $2 | $6 | $0.50 | – |
| Grok 4.7 (>=200K prompt) | $4 | $12 | $1 | – |
| Grok 4.6 (<200K prompt) | $2 | $6 | $0.50 | – |
| Grok 4.5 (<200K prompt) | $2 | $6 | $0.30 | – |
| Grok 4.3 (<200K prompt) | $1.25 | $2.50 | $0.20 | – |
| Grok 4.20 (<200K prompt) | $1.25 | $2.50 | $0.20 | – |
| Grok Build 0.1 (<200K prompt) | $1 | $2 | $0.20 | – |
Credits and extras
- Gemini: Bundled Google benefits. AI Plus includes 400 GB of storage; AI Pro 5 TB, YouTube Premium Lite and Google Home Premium Standard; AI Ultra from 20 TB, YouTube Premium individual and Google Home Premium Advanced.
- Gemini: No annual price stated. gemini.google/subscriptions lists monthly prices only ($4.99, $19.99, $99.99 and $199.99). Annual pricing, if any, is not stated there.
- Gemini: When you hit the limit. With a Google AI plan you can keep chatting with Flash-Lite, upgrade, or wait for the 5-hour or weekly refresh.
- Gemini: Free API tier (Google AI Studio). Google AI Studio and the Gemini Developer API have a no-cost tier with limited models and rate limits; free-tier content is used to improve Google's products. The paid tier is billed per token and is separate from Google AI plans.
- Grok: One bill for Grok, Cursor and X. Premium and up include Grok, Cursor (agents, cloud agents, Origin code hosting, Bugbot) and Premium benefits on X. xAI says Premium replaces SuperGrok, Cursor Pro and the old Premium+ plan on X ($90/mo combined before).
- Grok: Annual discount. Plus $80/yr, Premium $300/yr, Super $1,000/yr and Ultra $2,000/yr, about 17% below 12 monthly payments.
- Grok: X Money. 6% APY and 3% cashback on all tiers (Free and Plus require Direct Deposit).
- Grok: Switching is permanent. Existing SuperGrok, Cursor or Premium (on X) subscribers keep their plans. Switching to the new Grok plans (sold as The X Subscription) refunds unused time, but the new plan is charged in full and the switch cannot be undone. Cannot buy through resellers.
FAQ
Is Google AI Plus cheaper than Grok Plus?
Yes. Google AI Plus is $4.99 a month and Grok Plus is $8 (USD, excluding tax). Grok Plus is $7/month billed yearly.
Is Google AI Pro cheaper than Grok Premium?
Yes. Google AI Pro is $19.99 a month and Grok Premium is $30 (USD, excluding tax). Grok Premium is $25/month billed yearly.
What happened to SuperGrok?
xAI now sells Grok through The X Subscription (Plus, Premium, Super and Ultra; see Grok pricing). The SuperGrok plans are kept for existing subscribers only. The last listed SuperGrok prices were SuperGrok $30/month, SuperGrok Plus $100/month, SuperGrok Heavy $300/month (legacy prices).
Rank these plans for your budget · See every plan on one page
Sources
Google AI plans (gemini.google) · x.ai pricing page · Gemini Apps limits and feature availability (Google Help) · X Subscription usage limits (xAI docs) · The X Subscription pricing (xAI docs) · Gemini Enterprise editions (gemini.google, Business tab) · Gemini Developer API pricing (Google AI for Developers) · xAI API models and pricing · Introducing The X Subscription (xAI)