# Methodology: how prices are checked

Source: https://ai.geekindata.com/methodology
Prices last checked: Nov 3, 2026
Page updated: Nov 3, 2026
License: CC BY 4.0, attribution GeekInData AI

Every figure comes from the vendor's own page.

- Re-checked: daily, by script
- Shown: the date each figure was checked
- Unpublished: marked Not published, never zero
- Affiliation: none, no ads or affiliate links

## How figures are collected

- Every price and limit comes from an official vendor page (pricing pages, help centers and API docs). Each table row links to its source.
- A script re-reads the vendor pages once a day. A number is never overwritten with nothing; a parse that fails sanity checks (for example plans out of price order, or input above output price) is discarded; changes over 50% are applied but flagged for review.
- Changes are proposed as a pull request and reviewed before they go live.
- Prose (feature lists, limit descriptions) is edited by hand from the same pages.

## What the check labels mean

*Status labels used on every page*

| Label | Meaning |
| --- | --- |
| checked <date> | The script read the figure from the vendor page on that date. |
| checked by hand <date> | The figure was verified manually on that date (for example free plans). |
| last verified <date>; vendor page could not be re-checked automatically | The vendor blocks automated requests (for example HTTP 403). The figure is the last verified value and is re-checked by hand. |
| no longer listed on the vendor's pricing page | The item disappeared from the vendor page. The last published rate is shown so you can see what it was. |
| Not published | The vendor gives no number. This is not zero. |
| Not stated | The vendor does not say whether a feature is included. This does not mean not included. |

## Plan names

*How vendors name their plans*

| Product | Sold as |
| --- | --- |
| Grok | The X Subscription (xAI), also bundles X app features |
| Gemini | Google AI Plus, Pro and Ultra |
| Older SuperGrok / X plans | Existing subscribers only |

## Currency and tax

- Pages show US list prices in USD, excluding tax.
- The site can convert currency and add estimated tax.
- Those are estimates: local, country and app-store prices often differ.

- Exchange rates: ECB reference rates via [Frankfurter](https://frankfurter.dev) (about 30 currencies) and [Exchange Rate API](https://www.exchangerate-api.com) (about 160 currencies), fetched live with a saved snapshot as fallback.
- Tax: standard national consumer rates for digital services as of 2026-11-03, from [Tax Foundation: VAT rates in Europe (Jan 2026)](https://taxfoundation.org/data/all/eu/value-added-tax-vat-rates-europe/), [TaxID: VAT and GST rates by country 2026](https://www.taxid.dev/vat-rates), [VatInfo.org: VAT rates by country 2026](https://vatinfo.org/countries/).
- US and Canadian tax depends on state or province, so set a custom rate. Business buyers with a valid VAT or GST number are often charged 0%. API prices are always shown excluding tax.

## How the plan finder ranks plans

Each plan gets a **0-100 fit score**, a weighted average of:

- Affordability
- Usage within its vendor
- Top-model access
- Fit to your use cases
- Context window

Unpublished factors are left out, not scored as zero. It measures fit, not quality.

### What the score cannot tell you

- Usage is only comparable inside one vendor. Across vendors, headroom is the plan's position on that vendor's own ladder, and you set how much it matters.
- No quality or benchmark claims. The scores use published prices, usage multiples, model access, context and feature tables.
- Unknown values (marked Not published or Not stated) are left out of a score. They are never counted as zero or as included.
- Converted currency and tax follow the currency and tax rules above.

## Dates

*Page dates*

| Label | Meaning |
| --- | --- |
| Last checked | Latest check of the figures on the page |
| Updated | Last time the facts on the page changed |

## Coverage

*What is tracked*

|  | Covered |
| --- | --- |
| Vendors | ChatGPT, Claude, Gemini, Grok |
| Plans | Consumer, team, API rates |
| Not tracked | Microsoft Copilot, Perplexity, others |

## Independence and license

- Not affiliated with OpenAI, Anthropic, Google, xAI or X.
- No affiliate links or ads.
- Data reuse: [CC BY 4.0](https://creativecommons.org/licenses/by/4.0/), credit GeekInData AI ([open data](https://ai.geekindata.com/data.md), [licenses](https://ai.geekindata.com/licenses.md)).

## Sources

[ChatGPT pricing page](https://chatgpt.com/pricing/) · [ChatGPT Pro tiers (Help Center)](https://help.openai.com/en/articles/9793128-about-chatgpt-pro-tiers) · [What is ChatGPT Go? (Help Center)](https://help.openai.com/en/articles/11989085-what-is-chatgpt-go) · [Introducing ChatGPT Go (OpenAI)](https://openai.com/index/introducing-chatgpt-go/) · [What is ChatGPT Plus? (Help Center)](https://help.openai.com/en/articles/6950777-what-is-chatgpt-plus) · [ChatGPT Business pricing](https://openai.com/business/pricing/) · [ChatGPT Business models and limits](https://help.openai.com/en/articles/12003714-chatgpt-business-models-and-limits) · [ChatGPT Work / Codex pricing and usage](https://learn.chatgpt.com/docs/pricing.md) · [OpenAI API pricing](https://platform.openai.com/docs/pricing) · [Claude pricing page](https://claude.com/pricing) · [What is the Team plan? (Claude Help Center)](https://support.claude.com/en/articles/9266767-what-is-the-team-plan) · [How is my Team plan bill calculated?](https://support.claude.com/en/articles/9267289-how-is-my-team-plan-bill-calculated) · [x.ai pricing page](https://x.ai/pricing) · [The X Subscription pricing (xAI docs)](https://docs.x.ai/x-subscription/pricing) · [X Subscription usage limits (xAI docs)](https://docs.x.ai/x-subscription/usage-limits) · [xAI API models and pricing](https://docs.x.ai/developers/models) · [Introducing The X Subscription (xAI)](https://x.ai/news/x-subscription) · [Grok Pricing 2026 (gravity.fast, third-party)](https://gravity.fast/blog/grok-pricing-explained/) · [Google AI plans (gemini.google)](https://gemini.google/subscriptions/) · [Gemini Apps limits and feature availability (Google Help)](https://support.google.com/gemini/answer/16275805) · [Gemini Enterprise editions (gemini.google, Business tab)](https://gemini.google/subscriptions/) · [Gemini Developer API pricing (Google AI for Developers)](https://ai.google.dev/gemini-api/docs/pricing)
